Otter.ai for students offers, according to the provider, a 20 percent discount on the Pro plan. The condition is signing up with a .edu email address. The pricing page does not say whether a German university address is enough. This guide shows the prices, the verification route and what to consider when recording at university.
Short answer: According to the pricing page (as of October 2026), Otter.ai gives individual students and teachers 20 percent off the Pro plan, billed monthly or annually. Pro then costs 13.59 US dollars a month, or 6.67 US dollars a month when billed annually. A .edu email address is required, and the page does not mention German university addresses. Last updated: October 2026.
The key points
- The discount is 20 percent on Pro, billed monthly or annually.
- A sign-up with a .edu email address is required. The discount applies to individuals only.
- The Basic plan is free and includes 300 transcription minutes a month, with no carry-over.
- The page does not mention German university addresses. Ask the provider before you rely on it.
- Recording conversations and lectures requires the consent of those involved. Check your university’s rules.
Is there a student offer for Otter.ai?
Yes, with one condition. The pricing page names a 20 percent discount on Pro for individual students and teachers with a .edu address. The discount applies to Pro monthly and Pro annual. The page does not state how long the discount runs or in which countries it applies. Whether you qualify as a student in Germany therefore cannot be read reliably from the page. Clarify this directly with the provider.
Offer at a glance
| Plan | Regular price | Student price | Duration | Verification |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Basic | free, 300 transcription minutes a month | no difference stated | not applicable | none |
| Pro monthly | 16.99 US dollars a month | 13.59 US dollars a month (20 percent off) | monthly, term not stated | .edu email address |
| Pro annual | 8.33 US dollars a month | 6.67 US dollars a month, 79.99 US dollars a year | billed annually | .edu email address |
All amounts are in US dollars. We do not give euro prices, because the page does not list them. You activate the discount in your account through the link “Student & Teacher Discount” in the upgrade section.
What does Otter.ai cost during your studies? A worked example
Assumption: you use Pro for twelve months with the student discount, billed monthly. That is 12 × 13.59 US dollars, or 163.08 US dollars. Without the discount, billed monthly, it would be 12 × 16.99 US dollars, or 203.88 US dollars. With the discount and annual billing, the page gives 79.99 US dollars a year. Whether this pays off depends on how many recordings you need. The Basic plan, with 300 minutes a month, is enough for a test.
How to activate the offer
The discount is activated in your account, and only with a .edu email address. These steps guide you through the process.
- Create an account and sign up with a .edu email address.
- In your account, open the upgrade section and choose the link “Student & Teacher Discount”.
- Choose Pro monthly or Pro annual. The discount applies to both.
- If you have no .edu address, ask the provider whether your university address is accepted. The page does not answer this.
What happens after your studies?
The discount depends on your status as a student or teacher. The page does not state how long the discount lasts. We assume it is tied to the .edu address, and we suggest asking the provider how things continue once your status ends. Cancel a subscription you no longer need in time. What happens to your recordings after cancellation is set out in the terms of use.
What to watch for when using AI at university
Transcripts can contain errors, especially with technical terms, names and accents. Compare them with the recording before you quote or share them. Recording non-public conversations without consent can be a criminal offence. Check your university’s rules on recording lectures as well. Audio and transcripts are processed by the provider, so read the privacy notices on storage and deletion. More on this in Datenschutz bei KI-Tools im Studium (in German).
Which details to check before you subscribe
- Whether your address counts as a .edu address and whether the discount applies in Germany.
- Whether you bill monthly or annually and how that affects your commitment.
- The minute allowance on the Basic plan, so you do not exceed it.
- Where recordings and transcripts are stored and how long they are kept.
Frequently asked questions
Is Otter.ai free?
Yes, the Basic plan is free. It includes 300 transcription minutes a month with no carry-over. Imported files are limited to three per person, and a single conversation can last at most 30 minutes.
Do I need a .edu email address?
For the student discount, the provider requires a .edu address. The page does not say whether an address ending in .de is enough. Ask the provider directly before you rely on it.
Does the discount apply to teams?
No, according to the page, it applies to individuals only. Teams use the other plans listed on the pricing page.
May I record lectures?
That depends on your university’s rules and on the consent of the lecturer. A recording without consent can have legal consequences. Ask before you record.
How accurate are the transcripts?
The tool can make mistakes. Check the output against the recording before you use it in an assignment.
What to do now
- Test the Basic plan with a recording where everyone involved has agreed.
- Ask the provider whether your university address counts for the discount.
- Ask your university about its rules on recordings and AI tools.
- Only then choose Pro, monthly or annual.
Related guides
- KI-Tools für Studierende 2026: Welche Angebote es gibt (in German)
- Literaturrecherche mit KI: Werkzeuge und saubere Quellenprüfung (in German)
- Datenschutz bei KI-Tools im Studium (in German)
- NotebookLM für Studierende: Angebot, Preis und Nutzung im Studium (in German)
Sources: Otter.ai: pricing and student discount (October 2026)
Last updated: October 2026. This guide is general information, not individual advice.