ElevenLabs is a provider of AI voices, speech output and audio. Many students ask whether it offers them an advantage, for example for voiceovers, listening material or presentation videos. This guide covers the provider student offer, how to activate it and what to watch during your studies. As of October 2026.
Quick answer: According to the provider, ElevenLabs gives students three months of ElevenCreative (Creator plan) free, with ElevenAgents and ElevenAPI. ElevenReader Ultra is also free for one year. After that, the standard price applies, which the provider lists on its pricing page. Proof is based on student status. Last updated: October 2026. Offers change often.
The most important points at a glance
- According to the provider, ElevenCreative, ElevenAgents and ElevenAPI are free for three months.
- According to the provider’s announcement, ElevenReader Ultra is free for one year for students.
- The provider does not state when the offer ends. Check the offer before you activate it.
- The price after the three months is on the provider’s pricing page.
- For AI audio, copyright, data protection and your university rules apply.
Offer at a glance
The table summarises the provider’s details. Where the provider names no value, the table refers to its page.
| Service | Standard price | Student price | Duration | Verification |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| ElevenCreative, ElevenAgents and ElevenAPI | See provider pricing page | Free for three months, then the standard price | Three months | Student status, proof via the provider |
| ElevenReader Ultra | See provider pricing page | Free for one year | One year | Student status, proof via the provider |
Who is the offer for?
The student page is aimed at students at universities. You only get the plans if you prove your student status. According to the provider’s announcement of 25 September 2026 (updated on 12 October 2026), the offer applies to students aged 18 and over in the United States, Canada, the EU, Australia and the United Kingdom. Germany is therefore among the eligible countries.
According to the announcement, ElevenReader Ultra is free for students for one year. The verification step at the provider shows the details of the proof.
How to activate the offer
- Open the provider student page at elevenlabs.io/students and read the terms.
- Create an account with your university email address if the provider asks for it.
- Follow the steps to verify your student status and keep your proof ready.
- After activation, check whether a payment method must be stored and what is charged automatically after three months.
- Put the end of the three months in your calendar so that you can cancel or switch in time.
Verification is the main hurdle. If it fails, our guide on student status verification lists the common proofs.
How to use ElevenLabs sensibly in your studies
The strength of the tool is speech output. You can have your own texts read aloud, for example to listen to them on the commute, or add spoken commentary to a presentation. Speech output also suits flashcards you want to hear. For lecture notes, see the guide AI Tools for Lecture Notes: Transcription for Students.
With your own texts, make sure you hold the rights. You may not simply voice and distribute external content, such as textbook passages. For presentations, if you use an AI voice, label it as your university requires.
Data protection and rules
Do not enter personal data, data about third parties or unpublished research data into the tool. Read the provider privacy notice before you upload files. You may only reproduce another person voice with that person explicit consent. The examination regulations and the rules of your university decide whether and how you must disclose AI audio in assessments. If in doubt, ask early. The general overview is in our guide on AI tools for students.
Example calculation: what does it cost after three months?
Example calculation (assumption): You use the Creator plan free for three months and do not cancel. From the fourth month, you pay the standard price. The amount is on the provider price page. Multiply the monthly price by twelve to see the annual cost. Decide based on your actual use after the trial whether it is worth it.
What happens after your studies?
The student offer is tied to your status. The student page does not explicitly say when eligibility ends. Plan for the regular price to apply once the offer ends. If you want to keep using the tool professionally, compare the plans that fit you then. If not, cancel in time before the offer ends so that no charges arise.
Frequently asked questions
Is there a free ElevenLabs tier without student status?
Whether there is a free tier without student status is shown on the provider’s pricing page.
How long does the offer run?
According to the student page, the Creator plan is free for three months. The provider does not state an end date for the offer. Check the current status if you plan to wait.
Is a normal email address enough?
The student page does not describe the proof in detail. The verification step at the provider shows which proof is accepted. A university email address is an obvious proof.
Does the offer apply in Germany?
According to the provider’s announcement, the EU member states are eligible, and so is Germany. Whether your case qualifies is only shown by the verification.
Related guides
- AI tools for students 2026: which offers exist with student status
- ChatGPT for students: offer, price and use in your studies
- Claude for students: offer, price and use in your studies
- Student status verification explained
Sources: ElevenLabs student page (retrieved October 2026). Countries and age are given in the provider’s announcement of 25 September 2026 (updated on 12 October 2026).
Last updated: October 2026. This guide is general information, not individual advice.