If you want to study in Germany from Pakistan, three topics decide how smoothly your application runs: the blocked account, health insurance before enrolment, and your admission documents. This guide explains what the German missions currently ask for, what statutory student insurance costs once you are enrolled, and the order in which to take the steps.
Short answer: you usually need to prove 992 euros per month, or 11,904 euros for twelve months, in a blocked account in Germany (DAAD, 1 January 2025). Before enrolment you need private health insurance, because statutory cover only starts after enrolment. The German mission in Pakistan lists a scholarship or a commitment as alternatives and states no euro amount. Check its current list before you apply.
Key points at a glance
- Blocked account: 992 euros per month and 11,904 euros for one year (DAAD, 1 January 2025; general German figure).
- Until you are enrolled, private health insurance is required. The Pakistan list (undated) gives no minimum term and no minimum cover.
- Statutory student insurance (KVdS) starts with enrolment and taking up residence. With an assumed average additional contribution of 2.9 percent, the monthly total is 142.96 euros (status 1 January 2026).
- A visa for up to six months is granted only with proof of continuous health insurance cover (Pakistan list, undated).
- The language proof depends on your programme: a Goethe certificate at A2 or higher for German-taught degrees, or TOEFL (550 on the paper test, 213 on the computer test) or IELTS (band 6.0) for English-taught degrees (Pakistan list, undated).
- The cited university page names APS offices in China, India and Vietnam but does not mention Pakistan. Ask your target university whether it needs an APS certificate.
How much money do you need in a blocked account?
A blocked account (Sperrkonto) shows that your living costs are covered during your first year in Germany. The German mission in Pakistan does not state a euro amount for the blocked account. It names a scholarship confirmation or a declaration of commitment from the competent Ausländerbehörde in Germany as alternatives. The general German figure is 992 euros per month, as set out by the DAAD as of 1 January 2025, so confirm the amount with the mission before you open an account.
| Item | Amount | Status and source |
|---|---|---|
| Monthly living costs | 992 euros | DAAD, 1 January 2025 (general German figure) |
| Twelve months | 11,904 euros | DAAD, 1 January 2025 (general German figure) |
| Alternative | Scholarship confirmation or declaration of commitment (Verpflichtungserklärung, Art. 68 Residence Act) | German mission in Pakistan, list of documents (undated) |
Annahme: you start in October and the visa office asks for proof of twelve months. The calculation is 12 × 992 = 11,904 euros. For the general rules on coverage while studying from outside the EU, see our guide to Studying outside the EU: health insurance rules.
Which health insurance do you need before enrolment?
Until you are enrolled and living in Germany, you need private health insurance. The German mission in Pakistan says that statutory cover only starts once you have taken up residence in Germany and enrolled, and that a private policy is needed before then. Its list names no minimum term and no minimum cover, and it does not use the term travel insurance. Ask the mission which cover it requires, and compare any policy with the document list you receive.
What does statutory student insurance cost after enrolment?
After enrolment, most students join the statutory student health insurance (KVdS) under section 5 SGB V. The contribution is calculated on an assumed income base of 855 euros per month for students who do not live with their parents. The table uses the figures from the GKV-Spitzenverband fact sheet for 2026. The average additional contribution is an assumption, because each health insurer sets its own rate.
| Component | Calculation | Monthly amount |
|---|---|---|
| Health insurance base | 10.22 percent of 855 euros | 87.38 euros |
| Average additional contribution | Assumed 2.9 percent of 855 euros | 24.80 euros |
| Care insurance | 3.6 percent of 855 euros | 30.78 euros |
| Total without childless surcharge | Sum of the three rows above | 142.96 euros |
If the childless surcharge in care insurance applies to you, the same calculation gives 148.09 euros per month. You can request an exemption under section 8 SGB V only if you can prove that you have other coverage that meets the legal requirements. The application must be filed within three months of the start of compulsory membership, and a decision to exempt cannot be revoked. Our guide on Health insurance for international students in Germany explains the decision in more depth.
How does the visa process work step by step?
- Secure your admission or your place at a Studienkolleg, with the start date and the teaching language clearly visible on the document.
- Decide how you prove your funds: a blocked account of 11,904 euros for one year, or a scholarship confirmation that covers the same period.
- Buy private health insurance that covers you from your arrival until your enrolment date, and ask the mission which cover it requires.
- Check the current document list and appointment rules on the website of the German mission in Pakistan, then apply within the window that the mission allows.
- After arrival, enrol at the university and register for statutory student insurance, or submit your exemption application within three months.
Which language and admission documents do you need?
Proof of language depends on your programme. For German-taught degrees, the Pakistan list asks for a Goethe certificate at A2 or higher. For English-taught degrees, it accepts TOEFL (550 on the paper test or 213 on the computer test) or IELTS (band 6.0). You do not need a language certificate if your university confirms the language requirement in your admission letter.
Frequently asked questions
Can I open the blocked account from Pakistan?
The Pakistan list does not state rules for opening the account. Ask a German bank about the process and the documents it needs, and start early.
Is a scholarship enough instead of a blocked account?
The Pakistan list names a scholarship confirmation as an alternative. Check whether the scholarship covers the full amount and the full period that the visa office expects.
Do I need statutory insurance if I already have private insurance from Pakistan?
In most cases, students join statutory insurance after enrolment. Whether a private policy can replace it depends on the exemption rules in section 8 SGB V and on your situation. Ask your health insurer before you rely on the policy.
Do I need an APS certificate from Pakistan?
No Pakistan source confirms this. The cited university page does not name Pakistan, which does not settle the question. Ask your target university whether it requires an APS certificate for your school leaving certificate.
How early should I apply for the visa?
The Pakistan list gives no deadline and no processing time. Ask the mission for its appointment rules, and plan a buffer before your start date.
Your next steps
- Confirm your admission and the exact start date in writing.
- Choose between a blocked account and a scholarship confirmation, and calculate the amount for the period the visa office asks for.
- Compare the travel policy with the mission wording before you buy it, paying attention to the minimum term and the coverage area.
- Plan your statutory enrolment, or your exemption application, before you travel.
Related articles
- Health insurance for international students in Germany
- Studying outside the EU: health insurance rules
- Student health insurance in Germany 2026: key figures
- Studying in Germany: 30 university cities compared
Sources: German mission in Pakistan, list of documents for student visa applicants (undated, checked October 2026); DAAD, costs and blocked account (1 January 2025); GKV-Spitzenverband, fact sheet on contribution figures (status 1 January 2026); Gesetze im Internet, section 5 SGB V; Gesetze im Internet, section 8 SGB V.
Last updated: October 2026. This guide is general information, not individual advice.