More info

Readwise Reader for Students: Offer, Price and Use

Readwise Reader for students: the provider offers 50 percent off subscriptions. What the proof requires, what it costs and how long the discount lasts.
Zwei Studentinnen auf dem Campus im Herbst

Contents

Readwise Reader is a reading app that helps you collect, highlight and find articles and documents again. Students can get a discount on a subscription if they prove their status. This guide shows what the provider states about the offer, which prices appear on its pricing page and how to activate the discount.

Short answer: According to Readwise’s help page, students and other members of academia receive 50 percent off all subscriptions. The pricing page lists Readwise Full at 9.99 US dollars per month when billed yearly. You send your proof of status by email to [email protected] before you subscribe. The provider names no countries, so Germany is not mentioned explicitly. The provider does not state how long the discount lasts. Last updated: October 2026, offers change often.

Key points

  • According to the help page, students get 50 percent off the Lite and Full subscriptions, billed monthly or yearly.
  • The pricing page lists Readwise Full at 9.99 US dollars per month billed yearly and Readwise Reader alone at 7.99 US dollars. It does not list euro prices.
  • The discount applies only to subscriptions bought on the Readwise website. Subscriptions bought through Apple in the iOS app are excluded.
  • You send your proof to [email protected] before you subscribe.
  • The provider does not state how long the discount lasts.

Offer at a glance

The table summarises what Readwise states on its pricing and help pages. List prices are in US dollars, as of October 2026.

ServiceRegular pricePrice for studentsDurationVerification
Readwise Full (Reader and highlights)9.99 US dollars per month, billed yearly50 percent off, final amount see provider pageNo term statedPhoto of your ID or an email address that proves your status, sent to [email protected]
Readwise Reader (Reader only)7.99 US dollars per month, billed yearly50 percent off, final amount see provider pagesame as Readwise Fullsame as Readwise Full
Readwise Litesee provider page50 percent off, final amount see provider pagesame as Readwise Fullsame as Readwise Full

What does Readwise Full cost with the student discount?

The discount is applied to the subscription price. Assumption: a yearly plan of Readwise Full at 9.99 US dollars per month comes to 119.88 US dollars per year. Assumption: with 50 percent off, you pay roughly 59.94 US dollars per year. The pricing page gives no euro figure, so check the amount before you subscribe.

How to activate the offer

Readwise asks for proof before you subscribe. The steps follow the provider’s help page.

  1. Create an account with Readwise and try the app first with a text from your studies.
  2. Send an email to [email protected] before you subscribe. You can attach a photo of your ID or give an email address that proves your status.
  3. Subscribe on the website. According to the provider, existing subscribers receive a partial refund, and the discount is applied from then on.
  4. Check your billing and the renewal date after you subscribe.

Does the offer apply in Germany?

The help page names no countries and no list of universities. Germany is not mentioned there or on the pricing page. Readwise decides whether your proof is accepted, so ask by email before you subscribe if you want to be sure.

Does Readwise Reader suit your studies?

Readwise Reader makes sense if you collect many texts for research and lectures and want your highlights in one place. If you mainly manage reference lists and need citations, a reference manager often fits better. Our guides on tools for academic work and on Zotero for students compare the options (in German): tools for academic work and Zotero for students.

The right choice depends on your subject, your examination regulations and your working habits. We do not recommend one particular product here.

Data protection and examination rules

Only store texts and notes in Readwise that you are allowed to use. Do not enter unpublished research data, interview transcripts or personal data of third parties before you have checked the provider’s data protection terms. Your university’s rules also apply. Examination regulations and lecturers decide which aids are permitted. More on this in our guide to data protection for AI tools at university (in German).

What happens after your degree?

The help page states no rule for the end of your studies. The discount is based on your status as a student, so check before each renewal whether your proof still applies. If you no longer need the subscription, cancel it in good time on the website.

Frequently asked questions

Is Readwise Reader free for students?

The pricing page does not list a permanent free tier. Subscriptions cost money, and students pay 50 percent less once their proof is accepted.

How long does the student discount last?

The provider states no term. According to the help page, the discount is applied to future billing periods. For existing subscriptions, Readwise refunds a partial amount and applies the discount from then on.

Do I get the discount if I buy the subscription in the iPhone app?

No. According to the help page, discounts are not possible for subscriptions bought through Apple in the iOS app. Buy the subscription on the Readwise website.

Which currency applies?

The pricing page shows US dollars and no euro price. Check the amount you will be charged before you subscribe.

Your next steps

  1. Decide whether you really need Readwise in your daily routine before you subscribe.
  2. Send your proof to [email protected] before you subscribe and ask if anything is unclear.
  3. Subscribe on the website and note the renewal date in your calendar.

Related reading

Sources: Readwise Help: Subscription and Billing (student discount and billing), accessed October 2026; Readwise: prices for Reader and Full, accessed October 2026.

Last updated: October 2026. This guide is general information, not individual advice.

Teilen

Weitere Artikel

Studentin füllt in der Bibliothek einen Förderantrag aus

BAföG Payment: When the Money Reaches Your Account

Studentin füllt in der Bibliothek einen Förderantrag aus

BAföG Allowances From 2028: What the Annual Adjustment Means

Zwei Studentinnen auf dem Campus im Herbst

Counselling Services for Students Outside the University: An Overview