More info

Proton for Students: Offer, Price and Use in Your Studies

Proton grants students in Germany discounts on Mail, Drive, VPN and Unlimited. The figures differ between pages. Last updated October 2026.
Zwei Studentinnen auf dem Campus im Herbst

Contents

Proton for students covers discounts on several services, including Proton Mail, Drive, VPN and Unlimited. How large the discounts are and who qualifies is stated on two official pages that differ in some details. This guide shows both sets of information and explains what remains unclear.

Short answer: Proton grants students in Germany discounts on several services. According to the Proton blog, they range from 50 to 80 percent. The prices are shown in US dollars. Verification runs through Student Beans. The help page lists different percentages, so check the current terms in the portal before you buy. Last updated: October 2026, offers change often.

The Most Important Points

  • The Proton blog lists 80 percent off Mail Plus in the first month and 50 percent off Drive, VPN and Unlimited for twelve months each.
  • The help page lists 70 percent for VPN Plus, 50 percent for Mail Plus and 62 percent for Unlimited (status 28 January 2026).
  • Verification runs through Student Beans, either via your school or university portal, a confirmation email or an upload of a student ID.
  • Prices are shown in US dollars. Neither page lists euro prices.
  • According to the blog, Pass Plus is free for one year. Extending it depends on additional conditions.

Offer at a Glance

The table shows the figures from the Proton blog, retrieved on 26 October 2026. The blog does not state regular prices, so those cells contain no figures.

ServiceRegular priceStudent priceDurationVerification
Proton Mail Plusnot listed1 US dollar per month (80% off)1 month per blogStudent Beans
Proton Drive Plusnot listed1.99 US dollars per month (50% off)12 monthsStudent Beans
Proton VPN Plusnot listed2.49 US dollars per month (50% off)12 monthsStudent Beans
Proton Unlimitednot listed4.99 US dollars per month (50% off)12 monthsStudent Beans
Proton Pass Plusnot listed0 US dollars1 yearStudent Beans

Which Proton services are cheaper for students?

The blog lists discounts for four services. Mail Plus has the largest discount at 80 percent, but according to the page it only applies for one month. Drive Plus, VPN Plus and Unlimited are listed with 50 percent off for twelve months. Pass Plus is listed as free for one year. The blog also mentions a bundle with up to 80 percent off, without further conditions.

The help page differs. It lists 70 percent off VPN Plus, 50 percent off Mail Plus and 62 percent off Unlimited, each for twelve months. The page is dated 28 January 2026. It is not clear from the pages which figures apply today. What counts is the offer shown to you in the Student Beans portal or at checkout.

Does the offer apply in Germany?

Yes, both pages name Germany. According to the help page, eligible people are students at colleges and universities and pupils at secondary schools. The blog also includes apprentices (Auszubildende), which the help page does not mention. If you are an apprentice, ask before you buy whether your status qualifies.

The help page does not require a separate certificate from your university. Your student status must still be proven, but the page does not say whether a student ID counts as proof.

How does verification work?

Verification runs through the partner Student Beans. The help page names three routes:

  • Sign-in through your school’s or university’s learning portal
  • Confirmation via an email to your university address
  • Upload of a student or university ID

The blog gives a photo of your student ID as an example. The Student Beans portal shows which route fits your case.

Is Proton worth it for students?

That depends on which services you actually use. Example, assumption: you use VPN Plus for twelve months at the student price of 2.49 US dollars per month. That comes to 29.88 US dollars per year. The page does not state the price after the discount ends, so compare the figures yourself once you see the regular price in your account.

For Mail Plus, the blog says the discount lasts one month. Check in your account which price applies afterwards before you commit.

How to activate the offer

  1. Check whether your status fits the groups named: students at universities or colleges, and apprentices after checking.
  2. Open Proton’s student page and follow the link to the verification partner Student Beans.
  3. Create an account there and choose one of the three verification routes.
  4. After confirmation, choose the Proton plan you want and pay with the voucher issued by Student Beans.
  5. At checkout, check the currency, the term and the renewal conditions.

What happens after your studies?

The help page says nothing about the end of student status. Running plans may therefore behave differently than you expect. Before any renewal, check your account or contact support to see which conditions apply.

According to the blog, Pass Plus can be extended by one more year if you refer two new students who are currently studying and have not used the offer before. A separate process through customer service applies. Whether that route makes sense for you is your decision.

Frequently asked questions

Is Proton free for students?

According to the blog, Pass Plus is free for one year. Mail, Drive, VPN and Unlimited come with discounts, not free use. The help page lists discounts only.

Do I need a certificate from my university?

The help page does not require a separate certificate. Your status must still be proven, for example through a confirmation email to your university address or an upload of your ID.

Are the prices in euros?

Both pages show US dollars. You will see the final currency and amount at checkout. Check taxes and the total you actually pay.

Does the offer apply to apprentices?

The blog names apprentices explicitly, the help page does not. If you are unsure, ask Proton support before you pay for a plan.

How long does the discount for Unlimited last?

According to both pages, the discount for Unlimited lasts twelve months. The amount differs: the blog states 50 percent, the help page 62 percent. What counts is what checkout shows you.

What to do next

  1. Check your student status and the proofs the provider accepts.
  2. Compare the percentages from the blog and the help page with the price in the Student Beans portal.
  3. Decide which services you really use before you pay for an annual plan.
  4. Note the end of the discount in your calendar.

Related reading

Sources: Proton, student discounts on the blog (retrieved October 2026); Proton Help, student offers (status per page: 28 January 2026).

Last updated: October 2026. This guide is general information, not individual advice.

Teilen

Weitere Artikel

Studentin füllt in der Bibliothek einen Förderantrag aus

BAföG Payment: When the Money Reaches Your Account

Studentin füllt in der Bibliothek einen Förderantrag aus

BAföG Allowances From 2028: What the Annual Adjustment Means

Zwei Studentinnen auf dem Campus im Herbst

Counselling Services for Students Outside the University: An Overview