Affinity for students is essentially a free offer for individuals. According to the provider, the Affinity apps for Mac and Windows are free, but the page names no separate student offer. This guide shows what is documented, what applies to AI features and what happens after your studies.
Short answer: According to the provider’s website, the Affinity apps for Mac and Windows are free for individuals. A separate student offer is not documented there. An iPad version is announced but not yet available. The AI features require a Canva Premium subscription, according to the page. Last updated: October 2026, offers change often.
The key points at a glance
- According to the provider, the Affinity apps are free for individuals on Mac and Windows.
- The page names no student offer and no student discount.
- According to the provider, an iPad version is not yet available.
- According to the page, the AI features in Affinity require a Canva Premium subscription.
- The page does not state a time limit or restrictions on the free use. The marketing line “free forever” does not replace the terms of use.
Is Affinity free for students?
According to the provider’s website, Affinity is free for individuals, explicitly on Mac and Windows. The page does not describe the free offer as a student programme. The page requires no proof of status. Whether the free use is tied to conditions is not stated, so read the terms of use when you download the apps.
Offer at a glance
| Service | Regular price | Student price | Duration | Verification |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Affinity apps for Mac and Windows | Free for individuals according to the provider | No separate student offer documented | Not stated on the page | No proof mentioned on the page |
| AI features in Affinity | Canva Premium subscription required, price not on the page | No offer documented | Tied to the Canva subscription | Not mentioned |
| iPad version | Not yet available according to the provider | Not applicable | Not applicable | Not applicable |
Source: the provider’s website affinity.studio, last updated October 2026.
Is there a student discount for Affinity?
We found no student plan on the provider’s website. The page only points to a contact for organisations that need single sign-on. If a discount is offered, it should appear on the provider’s site, so check there before you rule out a solution.
What do the AI features in Affinity cost?
The provider’s website does not list the AI features individually and gives no prices. It describes that a Canva Premium subscription unlocks AI tools directly in Affinity. The page does not state the price of this subscription, so we refer you to the pricing page of Canva. A figure from this guide would not be documented.
Who is Affinity right for at university, and who is it not right for?
Affinity suits you if you edit images, lay out documents or create graphics on a Mac or under Windows and want to use the apps without a subscription. It suits less well if you need to work on an iPad while that version is missing, or if your course requires AI features that only run with the Canva subscription. For design courses, it is also worth a look at Software fürs Designstudium: Adobe, Figma, Affinity im Vergleich.
If you use AI features, your examination regulations and your university’s rules apply. Do not enter personal or unpublished research data, and check AI outputs yourself.
How to activate the offer
- Download the Affinity apps for Mac or Windows from the provider’s website, affinity.studio.
- Read the terms of use during the download, because the page names no restrictions.
- If you want AI features, first check whether you need a Canva Premium subscription and compare prices on the provider’s site.
- Wait with iPad use until the provider releases that version.
What happens after your studies?
Because the page ties the free offer to individuals and names no student status, use appears to remain possible after your studies according to the wording of the page. The terms of use are binding, however. If you use Affinity professionally, check them again. For AI features, what matters is whether you keep the Canva Premium subscription.
Frequently asked questions
Does Affinity run on the iPad?
Not yet, according to the provider’s website. The provider says the iPad version is in development. Check before you plan around it whether it has been released.
Do I need a subscription for Affinity?
According to the page, the apps are free for individuals. For the AI features, the provider requires a Canva Premium subscription.
Is use permitted in Germany?
The page names no country restrictions. It makes no statement about use for university purposes. For licence questions, contact the provider.
Which software should I choose?
This guide does not answer that question. What matters are the file formats of your field and the requirements of your course. A comparison with other design programs is in the overview linked above.
What to do now
- Check which device you work on: Mac, Windows or iPad.
- Download the apps from affinity.studio and read the terms.
- Clarify the use of AI features with your university before you use them.
- Check the provider’s website every three to six months to see whether the offer has changed.
Related guides
- Student Discounts on Software and Apps 2026: Overview
- Software fürs Designstudium: Adobe, Figma, Affinity im Vergleich
- Canva for Students: Offer, Price and Use During Your Studies
- Adobe Creative Cloud for Students: Offer, Price and Use
Sources: Affinity, provider website (last updated October 2026).
Last updated: October 2026. This guide is general information, not individual advice.