A preparatory college (Studienkolleg) is the bridge for applicants whose foreign school certificate does not give direct access to a German university. It prepares you for the Feststellungsprüfung, the assessment examination that opens the way to study. How admission works, what it costs and which deadlines apply depends on each college. One example shows what to look for.
Short answer: You need a Studienkolleg if your home certificate does not give direct access to university. The database anabin shows whether this applies to you. Each college sets its own examination fees. At the Frankfurt college, the internal assessment examination costs 100 euros and the external one 500 euros. The course usually lasts two semesters. Last updated: November 2026.
The most important points in brief
- You need a Studienkolleg if your certificate does not give direct access to university. The database anabin shows the classification.
- Under the framework regulation, the passed German part of the assessment examination counts for unrestricted admission.
- In Frankfurt the course usually lasts two semesters with 30 teaching hours per week.
- The assessment examination takes place at the end of the second semester, in written and oral parts.
- Deadlines, courses and costs differ between colleges, so the information of the college concerned always applies.
When you need a Studienkolleg
A Studienkolleg is the route if your foreign school leaving certificate does not directly entitle you to study in Germany. The database anabin, in which foreign certificates are classified, answers this question. Have the classification checked at the start, before you invest time in other steps.
The framework regulation for the German language test for university admission treats the Studienkolleg as a route of its own. Under section 5 (2) of the framework regulation, in the 2015 version printed there, the passed German part of the assessment examination counts as proof for unrestricted admission. The document refers to a new version; you find the current one at HRK and KMK. The Studienkolleg is therefore both a language proof and an access route.
Procedure: from application to examination
The Frankfurt example shows the typical stages. Fees, dates and deadlines come from the Frankfurt college page (status as stated on the page, 2026) and apply only to that college. Other colleges may regulate deadlines, procedures and forms differently, but the order is often similar.
- Apply through uni-assist. The documents include the final certificate in the national language, an officially certified translation into German or English, a copy of your passport and proof of German.
- Have the documents checked. According to the page, the document check takes three to six weeks. Missing documents can only be supplied within the deadline.
- Take the admission test. It is an electronic C-test that is only in German. According to the page there is no exemption, and you may take part at most three times.
- Attend the course. Courses usually run for two semesters and comprise 30 teaching hours from Monday to Friday.
- Sit the assessment examination at the end of the second semester. It has a written and an oral part.
Deadlines using Frankfurt as an example
The deadlines differ by semester. The table reproduces the information on the Frankfurt page. The application periods are given as approximate dates, so always check the exact dates on the college website.
| Semester | Application period according to the page (approx.) | Start of teaching |
|---|---|---|
| Summer semester | 25 September to 1 November | end of January |
| Winter semester | 25 March to 1 May | mid or end of August |
The dates show that the application window for the summer semester opens in autumn and the one for the winter semester in spring. Plan backwards from your desired start of teaching from the beginning.
Courses: which focus suits your degree
The Frankfurt college offers several course directions. The choice depends on your later subject. The page names the subjects for three courses in detail.
| Course | Focus | Subjects according to the page |
|---|---|---|
| M course | medical, biological, pharmaceutical | German, mathematics, physics, chemistry, biology |
| T course | mathematical-scientific, technical | German, mathematics, physics, chemistry, computer science |
| W course | economic and social sciences | German, mathematics, economics, business studies, geography or sociology |
The page also names the G course, but its subjects are not detailed there. Choose the course according to your future degree and ask before you commit.
Costs using Frankfurt as an example
The costs of a Studienkolleg consist of several items. The Frankfurt page states the amounts for the examinations. For the university semester fee it refers to the usual fees without naming an amount.
| Item | Amount according to the page |
|---|---|
| Internal assessment examination | 100 euros |
| External assessment examination | 500 euros |
| Supplementary examination | 100 euros |
| Further costs at the college (according to the FAQ) | none, apart from the university semester fee |
| Application through uni-assist and German courses | not stated on the page, ask the offices |
The figures refer to the Frankfurt college. Other colleges set their own fees, so a comparison only makes sense with each college’s figures.
External assessment examination: who may take it
Applicants who do not attend the college can be admitted to the external examination in Frankfurt. The page requires, among other things, documented inability to attend lessons, two advisory meetings, above-average grades, very good German, for example at level C1, and the consent of the management. The page describes the pass rate as very low.
The external examination is therefore not a route for everyone. It costs 500 euros, and the requirements are high. Anyone considering it should speak with the college before investing money and time.
Frequently asked questions
Must I attend a Studienkolleg?
Only if your certificate does not give direct access to university. The database anabin shows whether this applies to you. If you need a Studienkolleg, the assessment examination is the qualification that allows you to begin your degree.
How long does the Studienkolleg last?
In Frankfurt usually two semesters, so about one year. The page does not state the exact duration in weeks. Other colleges may have other periods, so ask when you apply.
Which course should I choose?
Choose the course according to your future subject. The M course suits medical subjects, the T course technical subjects and the W course economic or social science subjects. The subjects for each course are listed in the table above.
How difficult is the assessment examination?
The Frankfurt page describes it as a written and an oral part at the end of the second semester. For the external variant it names a very low pass rate. Plan your preparation from the start rather than in the last month.
Does the Studienkolleg also cover the language proof?
Yes, under the framework regulation the German part of the assessment examination counts as proof for unrestricted admission. For the application itself, however, you still need a proof at the required level, which at the Frankfurt college is B1.
What to do now
- Check with anabin whether your certificate gives direct access to university.
- Clarify the deadlines and documents of the Studienkolleg you are aiming for and plan backwards from the start of teaching.
- Prepare for the language proof and the admission test.
- Have the costs of examinations and procedures confirmed in writing before you commit.
Related articles
- Studying in Germany as an international student: the overview
- German language proof for study: TestDaF, DSH and alternatives
- Applying to a German university from abroad: procedure, fees and deadlines
- Applying for a student visa: procedure at the consulate
Sources: Studienkolleg Frankfurt, admission, courses, examination and fees page (status as stated on the page), Framework regulation for the German language test for university admission (RO-DT), HRK and KMK, version of 2015 (PDF, retrieved 2 November 2026).
Last updated: November 2026. This guide is general information, not individual advice.